10-20-17 Update

What I’m been reading
Finished Lucid Dreaming, Plain and Simple by Robert Waggoner and I’m going back through the last few chapters to complete my notes. Next up will probably be Charlie Morley’s Dreams of Awakening: Lucid Dreaming and Mindfulness of Dream and Sleep.

What I’ve been watching
Last weekend I found Seasons 3 and 4 of Canada’s Worst Handyman on Netflix. Home improvement and DIY shows usually attract my interest although I often find them disappointing because many of the improvements done on these shows are done by professionals using professional equipment or are projects that are too expensive (usually requiring special tools or a fully equipped wood shop) for me to take on.

On this show they found five of the most inept handymen (and women) in Canada and bring them to a “Handyman Rehabilitation Center” where they are each given a room to fix up, doing various projects to complete that involve carpentry, plumbing, basic electrical work, flooring, and drywall. The host is accompanied by two experts who attempt to teach each would-be handyman how to do each project. The two experts also accomplish each assigned task themselves. Throughout the show, they monitor the contestants on closed-circuit TV to evaluate them. At the end of each episode, they choose the worst handyman and the most improved.

Each episode also has a group project where the most improved person from the previous episode is made the foreman for the project. On the last show of each season the contestants have to complete as many of the projects as they can.

As I watched this show, there were funny moments but I generally felt bad for these people and there were things they did that I found downright frightening. I did learn a few tricks I hadn’t known (from the experts, not the contestants). Having seen this program, I don’t feel quite so bad about my own skills as a handyman. I’m not a great handyman but I’m passable. I get things done (eventually). And I never use a sledge hammer to remove plumbing fixtures.

Projects I’ve been working on
I finally got around to tearing down the old shed in the corner of my backyard. I’m not going to admit how many years I’d been putting it off. I hauled away most of it. I still need to cut down the small forest the cropped up in one corner of it then tear up the floor and whatever remains of the structure. I’ve also got some other junk back there that needs to be removed.

Quotes I’ve been pondering
“Clothes seem like our natural covering, but they aren’t. A lot of the time we don’t need clothes, we’re just conditioned to think we do.” ~ Will Forest, Co-Ed Naked Philosophy

“Everyone needs to strip down now and then, to get naked and let the wind blow across bare skin, so that every last nerve ending feels exquisitely alive.” ~ Jeanette LeBlanc, Get Naked

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

Leave a Reply

