09-22-17 Update

What I’m reading
I furnished reading Lucid Dreaming: Gateway to the Inner Self by Robert Waggoner. I read it on my Kindle and I took a lot of notes, especially when it came to tips and techniques. Now I’m starting his second book, Lucid Dreaming Plain and Simple. I’m hoping to learn more and have lucid dreams.

Projects I’m working on
The weather was nice this week so I concentrated on outdoor projects. I spent a couple of days edging the driveway and the sidewalks, a task that I’ve neglected for a couple of years.

Events attended
High school football game on Friday night. I’ve come to enjoy watching athletic events at this level although I’m primarily there for the marching band. It’s great to see these kids playing music and thoroughly enjoying what they’re doing. They put on a good half-time show but I look forward to when they take the field after the game and really boogie down. It used to be an impromptu thing where the percussionists would take to the field and start jamming while the rest of the band would dance to the beat they laid down. This year it’s a bit more organized. The band forms up and plays a couple of numbers with perhaps a bit more improvisation than allowed for the half-time show. It’s worth hanging around after the football team has left the field.

On Saturday, my wife attended a mass for Our Lady of Peñafrancia at a Catholic church in Dayton while I sat in the church basement reading a book. I probably could have dropped her off and gone back home but I knew there would plenty of food afterward. Food is central to any Filipino gathering.

On Sunday we attended a picnic for the local Philippine-American Society (Phil-Am) annual elections. Of course, there was plenty of food. I overheard one of the organizer commenting about so many people bringing food after being told the the Phil-Am would be providing it. In the Filipino community most feel that they need to contribute something and to share it with others.

Quote I’m pondering
“Questioning our own motives, and our own process, is critical to a skeptical and scientific outlook. We must realize that the default mode for human psychology is to grab onto comforting beliefs for purely emotional reasons, and then justify those beliefs to ourselves with post-hoc rationalizations.” ~ Dr. Steven Novella

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

Leave a Reply

