06-30-17 Update

Event I attended
On Saturday Tina, Abigail, and I attended the grand opening of Kuya Ian’s Bistro in Columbus where the Sayaw FilipinOH gave a benefit performance. The staff made us feel very welcome and the Filipino cuisine was great. Everyone in attendance enjoyed the performance.

KuyaIanBistro-170624

What I’ve been reading
The Devil in the Shape of a Woman: Witchcraft in Colonial New England by Carol F. Karlsen. As expected, it is interesting with a lot of demographic data about the women (and a few men) who were accused of witchcraft (and many executed for it) in early colonial New England. It turns out that the social and economic factors in the New England witchcraft trials were much different than the eariler trials in England and Europe.

TDitSoaW

What I’m watching
I just started watching GLOW on NetFlix. It’s a series about a Hollywood director trying to create a television wrestling show featuring women wrestlers. I haven’t had much if any interest in “professional” wrestling since I was a kid but I guess I’m drawn to this program on a different level. Maybe it’s the characters I’m drawn to.

Project I’m working on
The kids have been reorganizing their garage, tearing out the shelving and cabinets that came with the house and installing new shelves and storage that fits their needs better. It was inevitable that I’d get involved but that’s okay because it will benefit me as well since I store a lot of my tools there because I don’t have a garage. To be honest, none of us is sure who owns some of the tools, not that it really matters. We’re family and we share what we have. I’m hoping that with the reorganization, I’ll be able to store a few more tools. And now I’m feeling motivated to clean out my shed.

Quotes I’ve been pondering
“There is an objective reality out there, but we view it through the spectacles of our beliefs, attitudes, and values.” ~ David G. Myers

“A book is the only place in which you can examine a fragile thought without breaking it, or explore an explosive idea without fear it will go off in your face. It is one of the few havens remaining where a man’s mind can get both provocation and privacy.” ~ Edward P. Morgan

“Shit flows downhill. Rarely does anything positive ever trickle down. Positive change generally rises from the bottom in spite of the scum floating at the top trying to hold it down.” ~ R.B. Romig, 27 June 2017

“Let’s stop pretending that pants are even necessary. It’s time we progress as a society.” ~ Goddess of Mischief ‏@ShanaRose21

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “06-30-17 Update”

  1. I watched the entire first season of GLOW and I’m looking forward the next season when it becomes available. Yesterday, I found a documentary about the original Glamorous Ladies of Wresting on NetFlix. It was interesting. Since the original run on television was from about 1986 to 1990, I missed it because I was overseas and it didn’t make it to Armed Forces Television. I don’t know that I would have enjoyed it as a wrestling show but if it had been on AFRTS, I probably would have watched it simply because there was nothing else.

    Like

Leave a Reply

