06-23-17 update

Sorry for not posting last Friday but I just didn’t have anything of interest to post and I’m not sure I have anything of interest this week either.

Events I’ve attended
My wife and I attended two lovely weddings. Both took place at the same venue and were officiated by the same pastor. I actually knew the second couple and I’m sure my wife knew, at least casually, everyone at both weddings. In the past year or so I’ve been becoming more and more integrated with the local Filipino community here through my granddaughter’s involvement with the Sayaw FilipinOH dance group , through social interactions with my wife’s Filipino friends, and the local Filipino-American Association. It’s definitely a good thing that I’m becoming more involved as I’ve pretty much been on the fringes for many years.

Things I’ve been listening to
I’ve always enjoyed writing I enjoyed it school (elementary, secondary, and university) but it’s a skill that has gotten a bit rusty over the years. I do occasionally have moments of inspiration in which I produce the occasional rant on a blog but I’ve been yearning to write something more substantial. Now and then I run across a webinar purporting to reveal some secrets to great writing. Usually, they’re inducements to enroll in some sort of online course costing hundreds of dollars, which, of course, is beyond my meager financial resources. Still, I usually get a few ideas and tips from them.

I don’t have any aspirations of becoming a professional writer. Much of what I do write is for my own pleasure or amusement. Sometimes I write as a way to work out ideas which are occasionally released into the wild via my blogs. Lately, I’ve been looking at writing as a means of looking into the shadows and getting to know myself on a deeper level. I’ve also been taken by the idea of writing down and sharing some of the stories of my life experiences which seems like it would be more fun and exciting than probing my inner demons.

What I’ve been reading
After putting it down for a while I finished The Children’s Blizzard by David Laskin. I found it interesting. I had ancestors and cousins who lived in the Dakotas when this blizzard occurred and one related family that was traveling when it struck. Several of them lost limbs or were blinded from the frostbite. They were unable to maintain their homestead and moved back to Ohio.

Now I’m reading The Devil in the Shape of a Woman: Witchcraft in Colonial New England by Carol F. Karlsen. That promises to be interesting reading.

Quotes I’ve been pondering
Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been pondering solitude and the benefits of spending time alone. Here is a small sampling of my favorite quotes on the subject.

“The power to bring me out of solitude – or to push me back into it – had never belonged to another person. It was mine and only mine.” ~ Martha Beck

“To dare to live alone is the rarest courage; since there are many who had rather meet their bitterest enemy in the field, than their own hearts in their closet.” ~ Charles Caleb Colton

“It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude. “ ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson, Self-Reliance

“Learn to be alone and to like it. There is nothing more freeing and empowering than learning to like your own company. ” ~ Mandy Hale

“But when I looked closer, I saw the footprints were mine. I had walked it alone. I knew then I no longer needed to believe in myths to be strong. ” ~ Fishbo Jangles

“I like being alone. I have control over my own shit. Therefore, in order to win me over, your presence has to feel better than my solitude. You’re not competing with another person, you are competing with my comfort zones. ” ~ Horatio Jones

“Only when totally alone and in a naked state, do we know the total truth of who we truly are!” ~ Aleta Nelson

“Solitude does not necessarily mean living apart from others; rather, it means never living apart from one’s self. It is not about the absence of other people—it is about being fully present to ourselves, whether or not we are with others.” ~ Parker Palmer

“All of man’s difficulties are caused by his inability to sit quietly in a room by himself.” ~ Blaise Pascal

“What is needed is, in the end, simply this: solitude, great inner solitude. Going into yourself and meeting no one for hours on end—that is what you must be able to attain.” ~ Rainer Maria Rilke

“I love to be alone. I never found the companion that was so companionable as solitude. We are for the most part more lonely when we go abroad among men than when we stay in our chambers. A man thinking or working is always alone, let him be where he will.” ~ Henry David Thoreau, Walden

“As you simplify your life, the laws of the universe will be simpler; solitude will not be solitude, poverty will not be poverty, nor weakness weakness.” ~ Henry David Thoreau , Walden

“I think it is very healthy to spend time alone. You need to know how to be alone and not be defined by another person.” ~ Oscar Wilde

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.