06-09-17 update

Although I stayed busy all week, I don’t have much for this update, probably because I was busy with the same things all week.

Projects I’m working on
I currently have two outdoor projects in the works. One is extending my patio along the back of the house using the paver stones I dug up from my son’s house (see 05-09-17 update). It turned out that 60 was just the right number of stones for the project. I dug out the area to a depth of about three-and-a-half inches which wasn’t a particularly pleasant task, especially with daytime temperatures in the mid-80s. The clay soil, rocks and debris, and roots didn’t help. Once I got it dug up and reasonably level, I put in a two-inch layer of sand (give or take) and set the stones on top. On most home improvement shows this would be an afternoon project or a day at the most. I spent four days on it.

My daughter-in-law came up with another project for me. The gate to their privacy fence is in pretty bad shape and that portion of the fence runs at a rather odd angle from the property line to the corner of the use. She wants me to extend the fence another eight feet along the property line so the front section, with the gate, so there will be a square corner where the front side meets the house. Of course, the fence posts are securely embedded in concrete so they won’t be easy to dig out. (Yes, I still have the concrete to break up for her.)

What I’ve been watching
On Monday, I noticed that Mel Brooks’ Young Frankenstein was streaming on NetFlix so I just had to watch it. I love that he filmed it in black-and-white. Shooting it in color just would not have worked. I’d like to see more feature films done in black-and-white, it’s a very powerful medium and it takes skill for a director to manipulate the lighting and shadows properly to achieve the required effects.

Quotes I’m pondering
“Truth lies within ourselves; it takes no rise from outward things, whatever you may believe. There is an inmost center in us all, where truth abides in fullness and to know rather consists in opening out a way whence the imprisoned splendor may escape that in effecting entry for light supposed to be without.” ~ Robert Browning

“Denying the darkness doesn’t get rid of the darkness, it just leaves us more vulnerable to its appearance in our lives. We can approach the darkness, ever so carefully to learn about the monsters within ourselves. With knowledge, then we can avoid being caught with our pants down. We can avoid becoming a victim of our darker self.” ~ Robert G. Longpré, Naturist Lens: The Problem of Shadow Denied

“To be nude under the sun at the water’s edge is the natural way. … To be for the free beaches is to be human, in a dawning age of great consciousness and freedom.” ~ Lee Baxandall

“Everyone tells you what to do and what’s good for you. They don’t want you to find your own answers. They want you to believe theirs.” ~ Socrates

“Blessed are those who do not fear solitude, who are not afraid of their own company, who are not always desperately looking for something to do, something to amuse themselves with, something to judge.” ~ Paulo Coelho

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.