06-02-17 update

Event I attended
On Sunday Abigail and I traveled to Columbus, Ohio for the Asian Festival at Franklin Park. Sayaw FilipinOH did two performances, one in the Amphitheater and later inside in the Adventure Center. Abigail and the rest of the troupe gave great performances.

Sayaw-170528a
Sayaw FilipinOH at Columbus Asian Festival, 28 May 2017

Projects I’m working on
We worked on the garden and did some associated maintenance as well. I put the fence around the garden back up, repaired the garden hose and replaced the nozzles for both the front and back hoses. I also fabricated and erected things to support the climbing plants. So far, most of the plants seem to be growing well.

Another dumb-ass thing I did
In last week’s update I forgot to mention the other dumb-ass thing I did that weekend. I forgot that one should not toss water on hot coals. I quickly remembered why one shouldn’t do that. I got burns on the fingers of my right hand, between my hand and the first knuckle. I was also burned on the underside of my right forearm. It hurt like hell. At first I thought they might be only first-degree burns but later that evening, the pain still hadn’t subsided and a few blisters were beginning to appear. I probably should have gone to urgent care but I got some burn spray and gauze pads at the corner drugstore and treated it myself. The lidocaine in the spray helped to relieve the pain. The burn on my arm began to peel around mid-week and the fingers are just starting to peel. Both areas are still rather red.

Quotes I’m pondering
“Most people do not see their beliefs. Instead, their beliefs tell them what to see. This is the simple difference between clarity and confusion.” – Matt Kahn

“I like being alone. I have control over my own shit. Therefore, in order to win me over, your presence has to feel better than my solitude. You’re not competing with another person, you are competing with my comfort zones.” – Horatio Jones

“Choices. Choices have consequences. Do I settle for a choice that leaves me in the shadows, on the fringes of depression, or do I choose to lose even more?” – Robert G. Longpré, Sky Clad Therapist – The Naked Psyche: There’s Darkness in the Sunshine

“The idea of a belt holding my pants up seems so 20th century. Imagine a world where your pants are held high by your self-esteem. But it’s a silly notion, really, because in a world such as that, nobody would even wear pants.” – Jarod Kintz, This Book Has No Title

“That flesh is corruptible is indisputable – the body will rot after death. That it has a corrupting feature is nonsense. The naked body does not corrupt innocent minds.” – T. L. Lim, My Life as a Naturist: A Justification For Naturism

“Feeling the breeze on your bare body is soothing to the soul.” ~ Kathy Barron

“I’d go somewhere where no one spoke. I would take a stack of books up to my hips, and I’d read nonstop. And I’d be reading naked.” ~ Linda Hamilton, on what she’d do with a day to herself

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.