05-05-17 update

Another week has gone by. I can’t say that I accomplished much, certainly less than I had intended.

What I’m reading
The Children’s Blizzard by David Laskin. This book is about the sudden, violent blizzard that swept across the Great Plains on January 12, 1888, claiming 235 lives, most of whom were children on their way home from school. I had ancestors who were living in the Dakotas at that time and I’ve read accounts of the Sweet family who were related to me and were caught in the storm and suffered greatly because of it..

Stuff I’m dealing with
I’m still dealing with the crud I had last week. I think I’m over the worst of it but I’m still given to fits of coughing, particularly at night. Who in their right mind develops and markets with a night-time cold medicine that’s only effective for four hours? A night-time medicine should knock me out for the whole night. This past week I’ve often been waking up between three and five in the morning so I take another 4-hour dose and go back to bed, usually waking up after ten.

Since setting the DVD/Blu-Ray player to a static IP address, I’ve noticed that it has been connecting to the Internet much more quickly. In fact, I don’t even see it going the three stages of acquiring content. I’m wondering if I have other devices on my network that might similarly benefit from a static address.

Events I attended
This week my wife and I attended concerts by the Wayne High School bands – Concert, Jazz, Symphonic Winds, and Wind Ensemble. Our grandson, Ben, plays trombone in the Jazz Band and the Wind Ensemble. They were enjoyable musical evenings.

On Thursday we watched the Charles C. Huber Elementary School talent show. It was quite entertaining. Our grandson Nick sang an acappella number. He’s got a good voice.

Quotes I’m pondering
“This one simple change – seeking and finding peace within – could, were it undertaken by everyone, end all wars, eliminate conflict, prevent injustice, and bring the world to everlasting peace. There is no other formula necessary, or possible. World peace is a personal thing! What is needed is not a change of circumstance, but a change of consciousness.” – Neale Donald Walsch

“In this universe, and this existence, where we live with this duality of whether we exist or not and who are we, the stories we tell ourselves are the stories that define the potentialities of our existence. We are the stories we tell ourselves.” – Shekhar Kapur

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.