04-21-17 update

What I’ve been watching
The latest incarnation of Mystery Science Theater 3000 on Netflix is pretty good. I’d always been partial to the original, feeling that later incarnations weren’t quite up to the mark. But this new series is every bit as good as the original, maybe better. There seems to be no shortage of cheesy B movies to torture us and those on the Satellite of Love but their commentary makes them bearable.

Technology I’m dealing with
I’d already gone through my MojoNude blog in its entirety, restoring images, updating links, and occasionally editing entries. Over the weekend I began the process on the For What It’s Worth blog which will take much longer because I’ve had this blog going in some form long before MojoNude. It also has entries imported from my Live Journal so there are duplicate entries from that. Until recently, I posted to it more frequently than I did to MojoNude.

In one of my tech email subscriptions I found an article about alternate DNS services to what’s provided by default by one’s ISP. I overrode the default DNS addresses provided by my ISP on my gateway router and put in the addresses for DNS.Watch. I chose that one because they don’t log DNS requests and they claim to have optimized their service for speed. I’ll try it out for a while and see how it goes. So far, it seems to be working well. I was glad to see that once I’d made the change on the router, all of my computers and devices picked up the change right away instead of waiting for a reboot or the next DHCP request.

Projects I’m working on
It’s spring so there are plenty of outdoor projects to be done. My mower died over the weekend after several years of faithful service. I’m certain that repairing it would cost just as much as replacing it but I haven’t gotten to it yet. I’ll make a trip to Lowe’s or Home Depot today or tomorrow and get one. (I bought a cheap power mower from Home Depot because I already owed them less.)

I got a truckload of mulch from the city’s yard waste facility yesterday and applied it to the flower beds in front of the house. I dug out a few inches along the bricks and filled that in with mulch to make mowing along the beds a little easier. I did the same thing around the garden boxes in back. I had plenty of mulch left over so I decided to cover the grass inside the fence around the garden. I’ll get another load next week and finish it off then take whatever remains to the kids’ house for their flower beds.

Quotes I’m pondering
“The bible should be reverently and ceremoniously burned every Easter. It is a dangerous book. We need it no longer for the spirit is with us.” – Alan Watts

“You must realize that you are now only a heap of conventions, habits, what society has made of you. Once all these have left you, you realize that they were defenses and aggressions accumulated solely to maintain the ego.” – Jean Klein

“You know, the very powerful and the very stupid have one thing in common. They don’t alter their views to fit the facts. They alter the facts to fit their views. Which can be uncomfortable if you happen to be one of the facts that needs altering.” – The Doctor

“I would say that the idea America has a crumbling morality, that we have some kind of morality that’s standing, is built on repressive patriarchal conceptions of sex and sexuality. So if that’s crumbling, then let it crumble.” – Kirin Gupta

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.