04-07-17 update

What I’m reading
I’m still working my way through In Search of Schrödinger’s Cat. While not overly technical, it’s still not what I would consider casual reading. I recently began reading England: A History by R.J. White.

What I’ve been watching
Since the new season began I’ve been watching Who Do You Think You Are on TLC on Sunday night. I’ve enjoyed this show since it first aired about eight years ago. It’s the stories, the history, and often the quests themselves that interest me. That they are researching a celebrity’s ancestry is irrelevant. Most of the time, their roots are just as humble as everyone else’s. Their ancestors were people who lived their lives, did what they had to do, and overcame obstacles, just like we all do. When the show first came out, I read a lot of complaints by genealogists about the the celebrities having most of the research done for them. So what? I enjoy the quest, searching through records and all that, but if I could get someone to do some of that for me, I’d jump at the chance.

Whist channel surfing one evening, I found Robin Hood, a rendition of the story I’d never seen before, It was a British production released in 1991, around the same time as the Kevin Costner film Robin Hood, Prince of Thieves. This film was directed by John Irvin and starred Patrick Bergin as Robin Hood and Uma Thurman as Marian. This seemed to be a much less romanticized treatment of the legend and probably a better portrayal of the events and circumstances in the early thirteenth century from which the legend arose.

What I’ve been listening to
I’ve been seeing a lot of links to podcasts on my Twitter feed and I’ve been taking the time to listen to some of them. A lot of them seem to be rambling but some have been quite interesting. This week I heard two Tim Ferris podcasts in which he spoke with Cheryl Strayed and Dr. Brené Brown that I really enjoyed. I liked Cheryl Strayed’s concept of “Motherfuckatude” which she she described as a mixture of humility and strength. I totally get that.

Technology I’m dealing with
Unable to afford the upfront cost of maintaining a hosted web site, I gave it up. I did back up the entire site so I didn’t lose any data and I exported two of my blogs so they’re still up and running although what few readers I may have had will have to find them again. I had a lot of content there that I hadn’t done anything with in years so it didn’t bother me that it went away. I’d like to find a way to get some of the genealogy information back on-line. I’m sure I’ll find something.

Quotes I’m pondering
“Simplicity does not mean want or poverty. It does not mean the absence of any decor, or absolute nudity. It only means that the decor should belong intimately to the design proper, and that anything foreign to it should be taken away.” – Paul Jacques Grillo

“Trust that all you’ve learned was worth learning, no matter what answer you have or do not have about what practical use it has in your life. Let whatever mysterious starlight that guided you this far guide you onward into the crazy beauty that awaits.” – Cheryl Strayed, Brave Enough

“Tradition becomes our security, and when the mind is secure it is in decay. ” – Jiddu Krishnamurti

“I love to be alone. I never found the companion that was so companionable as solitude. We are for the most part more lonely when we go abroad among men than when we stay in our chambers. A man thinking or working is always alone, let him be where he will.” – Henry David Thoreau, Walden

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.