Friday Update (03-17-17)

What I’m reading
I’m still reading In Search of Schrodinger’s Cat: Quantum Physics and Reality. It’s not exactly leisure reading but it is interesting. What I’ve read so far has been a good history of how quantum physics developed in the last 19th and early 20th centuries. And it hasn’t been overly technical or filled with mathematical formulas.

Concept I’m toying with
This is something that I’ve given though to many times. In Newtonian physics we deal with large objects and forces we can see and easily measure. Quantum physics deals with very small things like atoms and subatomic particles and forces that we can’t easily measure. Might there also be matter and energy that is even more subtle that the laws of quantum physics no longer apply, where even time and space are no longer applicable. In this realm, matter and energy could exist in more than one place in time and space simultaneously.

Tech I’m working with
I apparently got my hosted email working in Thunderbird on the HP. Mail is coming in and I was able to send test mail to my gmail account. I’d been having email issues in the Thunderbird client on all machines for quite a while.

I made another minor modification to my conky script that displays system information on my screen. One piece of information it displays is my public IP address but the script I’d been working from showed it on in the IPv6 format. I was researching ways to obtain the public IP from the Linux command line and I found several so I slight modification to the address from which the script obtained the address so that it displays it in the more familiar 4-octet form.

Even though I don’t need to do it, I’m considering upgrading my laptop and a desktop to Linux Mint 18.1 Serena. I currently have 17.3 on them which is supported until 2019 but these computers have few data files or extra applications on them so the upgrade wouldn’t be difficult. I’m planning to leave my HP desktop as it is for now because of the amount of data on it and uncertainties about Ubuntu support for the AMD CPU and GPU with the newer kernel.

Quotes I’m pondering
“When you think of the long and gloomy history of man, you will find more hideous crimes have been committed in the name of obedience than have ever been committed in the name of rebellion.” – C.P. Snow

“The most important kind of freedom is to be what you really are. You trade in your reality for a role. You trade in your sense for an act. You give up your ability to feel, and in exchange, put on a mask. There can’t be any large-scale revolution until there’s a personal revolution, on an individual level. It’s got to happen inside first.” – Jim Morrison

“You are never dedicated to something that you have complete confidence in. No one is fanatically shouting that the sun is going to rise tomorrow. They know it’s going to rise tomorrow. When people are fanatically dedicated to political or religious faiths or any other kind of dogmas or goals, it’s always because these dogmas or goals are in doubt.” – Robert Pirsig, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.