Friday Update (03-03-17)

What I’m reading
I finished reading The Norman Conquest: The Battle of Hastings and the Fall of Anglo-Saxon England by Mark Morris. The book was a good historical account of the events leading up to and following William the Conqueror’s invasion of England to take the crown promised him by his cousin, Edward the Confessor. For me it was of historical and genealogical interest. I’m a fan of English history and William the Conqueror is quite likely my 29th great-grandfather.

Next, I read The Tower of London by Alison Weir. The book was a bit shorter than expected given the Tower’s nearly 950 year history. It seemed to be an overview of the Tower’s history, leaving me yearning to learn more about many of the events that took place within its walls.

I’m currently reading Co-ed Naked Philosophy by Will Forest. I’d been hearing about this work of naturist fiction for a number of years and decided to read it. It’s apparently based on actual events and deals with a group of college professors and students who disrobe for a philosophy class. It also deals with the characters’ experiences with public nudity at an unofficial nude beach, streaking on campus, and other situations. Throughout the story the author echoes many of my own ideas about naturism, body acceptance, and nudity.

Concepts and ideas I’m toying with
Nudity as our natural state. After all, we come into this world naked so it’s our default state. Clothing is something we add to the default so it’s an aberration. All clothing is manufacture, it’s not natural. Therefore, wearing clothing is not natural, though we’ve been been conditioned to believe that it is. Wearing clothes may have become normal but that doesn’t make it natural.

Man’s war against himself. Actually, this idea germinated with the previous concept. If nudity is our natural state then it seems reasonable to assume that being nude is, at some level, a primal part of our nature that has been culturally suppressed over many millenia. When we look at the history of the world, we see that civilization has generally been a conflict with Nature. As civilization has advanced, we’ve escalated the war on Nature and separated ourselves more from it. But we are a part of nature so the more we try to separate ourselves from it, the more we separate ourselves from our own nature and our humanity. At some point the war against Nature escalated to include humanity and ourselves among the enemy, making us the enemy we seek to destroy. Ultimately, we are the war’s casualties. I’m certain the mankind will fight the war until we bring about our own extinction and Nature will prevail as it always does.

Parties I’ve attended
I first learned about Dayton Warm Breezes (DWB) back in October but it was only this last Saturday that I attended on of their events, a house party at a member’s home. Other than everyone being naked, it wasn’t any different than any other house party. A masseuse was available to give massages and the host had a hot tub all warmed up but I didn’t partake of either. It was the first time I’d participated in social nudity in quite a while (having been exclusively a home nudist for the past few years) and I realized that I had, indeed, missed to social aspects. I still enjoy my nude solitude but there needs to be a balance. There’s another house party coming up soon and I’m planning to attend and formally join the club.

Games I’m playing
Words With Friends. I’ve been playing this Scrabble-based game on my mobile phone for a couple weeks now and it constantly reminds me how much my vocabulary, which I had believed to be above average, have slipped over the years. My 14-year-old granddaughter trounces me. But she’s never shown me any mercy in games.

Quotes I’m pondering
“Dangerous does not mean exciting or bold. It means likely to cause great harm. The most dangerous idea is the only dangerous idea: The idea that ideas can be dangerous.” ~ Daniel Gilbert

“Civil disobedience is not our problem. Our problem is civil obedience. Our problem is that numbers of people all over the world have obeyed the dictates of the leaders of their government and have gone to war, and millions have been killed because of this obedience. Our problem is that people are obedient all over the world in the face of poverty and starvation and stupidity, and war, and cruelty. Our problem is that people are obedient while the jails are full of petty thieves, and all the while the grand thieves are running and robbing the country. That’s our problem.” ~ Howard Zinn, Failure to Quit

These quotes have particular relevance as the extremist conservatives who have infested our government at the highest levels work to destroy every great accomplishment our nation has made in the last century. Ironically, they’re doing it under the battle cry of “Make America Great”. If anything, these people are destroying America’s greatness.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.