Friday Update (02/24/17)

In my email, I get an email from Tim Ferris called “5 Bullet Friday” in which he talks about five things he’s reading, watching, listening to, using, or pondering. I think it might be a fun thing to try for myself.

What I’m reading this week
Bash Guide for Beginners by Machtelt Garrels. I first got my feet wet with Bash scripting about a year ago because I wanted to write a couple of scripts to simplify a routine multi-step computer task. I had plenty of experience with Windows/DOS batch files but I hadn’t really done any scripting in a Linux environment. I found several books online in PDF format and worked my way though a few of them. This week I felt the urge to keep my skills up and, hopefully, learn more.

This book, like most of the of the books I’d found, assumes a more than casual knowledge of Linux commands. Like the other books, it spends several chapters discussing grep, sed, and awk which are handy tools to use within scripts and like many others, uses rather trivial examples. I wish these Bash guides would include code examples for the chapter exercises to give me some idea of how to proceed since my intimacy with Linux commands is probably only a bit above the beginner level.

Purchase I’m loving
New mattress. Last week my wife saw a sales flyer in the paper advertising $200 per piece for a queen-size mattress set. She’d been wanting to replace our mattress anyway because it was getting soft and she kept rolling into the center because of my weight. The timing was right because I’d just gotten the income tax refund. It was delivered this past Wednesday and we’re both sleeping much better.

Training gear I’m using
Welso Cadence G 5.9i treadmill. My wife was missing her walks either in the park or in the mall and felt the need to get more exercise so she began hinting about getting a treadmill for some time. As usual, what Mama wants, Mama usually gets. We looked around and finally found this treadmill at Walmart for $287 ($307.81 after taxes). I got it set up the next day and she’s been using it everyday since. I’ve been using it regularly too. I think its something we both needed to maintain our health.

Technology I’m checking out
VirtualBox. Actually, I’ve been checking it out for a couple of weeks. I put in on my main computer as a means of checking out different Linux distributions and potentially move the few tasks I still do on Windows to a virtual machine. I’ve also been trying out Linux distributions on a couple older machines that I had siting around. In the process I’ve been learning about changes in the newest Linux kernels such as the deprecation of many of the standby networking commands and common device names. For now I’m sticking with the distributions I’m currently using until I need to upgrade.

Quotes I’m pondering
“At their best, the world’s great religions are the collective unconscious of humanity, the beating heart of our species. At their worst, they will be our demise. On one hand, they invite us into a deeper realization of who we truly are, and on the other hand, they actively suppress the voice of our true Self.” ~ Benjamin Riggs

“How many people long for that ‘past, simpler, and better world’, I wonder, without ever recognizing the truth that perhaps it was they who were simpler and better, and not the world about them?” ~ Drizzt Do’Urden

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.