I claim no religion

I claim no religion but I do not identify as an atheist. I might be considered agnostic, meaning that I don’t know. A belief in a supreme deity is uncertain but not likely. However, I am certain that I do not believe in the God of Abraham, a system of beliefs that run contrary to my sense of reason, my understanding of the Universe, and my own experience. I strongly suspect that modern interpretations of Western religion are very different from what the original prophets and mystics were trying tell us. It is mainly the modern interpretations (the last 17 centuries) that I find troublesome.

I would like to believe that there is something greater than us, a supreme consciousness, a force, or an energy that binds the Universe but the empirical evidence for it mostly seems to be, at best, sketchy, anecdotal, and circumspect. Still, I’m hopeful that something of that order does exist and I’m open to possibilities.

There is so much that is beyond ordinary human capacity to observe and comprehend. Our science has made great strides in observing and measuring more and more subtle particles and frequencies but much still lies beyond our senses even with scientific instrumentation.

I’m certain that there are energies and frequencies that are beyond name and form — what we can sense and comprehend intellectually. You can call it Divinity, God, Brahman, Supreme Consciousness, The Force, The Great Spirit, or any other name. Whatever we call it, it is eternal and exists outside of the restrictions of our perceived reality based on time and space. It transcends our reality. We cannot give it name and form because when we attempt to describe it in terms we can understand, we limit it to our limited reality, thus restricting our understanding of it and our connection to it. Ultimately, it must be experienced intuitively, not intellectually.

As for religions, I find Vedic philosophies intriguing but I’ve found myself gravitating toward Buddhism, not necessarily as a religion but as a life philosophy. The Buddha never claimed to be a god, the son of a god, nor did he claim there was a god. He simply taught four basic truths and demonstrated that there was a way through which we could, through discipline and our own efforts, achieve our own salvation. It’s probably a path that requires more work than maintaining a belief that someone will grant you salvation but ultimately worth the effort.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “I claim no religion”

  1. My views and ideas about what may be beyond the physical world in which we well have evolved over my lifetime. The Abrahamic religions, particularly Christianity, have never set well with me. I find them contradictory and at odds with how the Universe actually works.They are dependent on an unquestioning belief in an all-knowing and all-powerful god that appears to be dysfunctional and psychotic with bipolar tendencies.

    For much of my life, I assumed that I was, by default, of the Christian faith though leaning toward agnosticism. For a time, under that assumption, tried to practice that faith but after reading a large portion of the Bible, I concluded that it made very little sense to me. I dismissed the assumption of Christianity although the religion continues to fascinate me, much like passing by a horrible accident.

    I’ve looked at atheism but rejected that as well. I strongly suspect that there is what might be called a spiritual realm, a state of consciousness or another dimension that coexists with the physical world. The laws of physics, particularly quantum theory, seems to suggest that it’s possible.

    I attended a funeral service yesterday. The service was decidedly Christian but it caused me to think about what kind of service I would want. What words would I want to have spoken to give spiritual comfort to those I leave behind? I would prefer not to have a Christian service, delivered by a Christian pastor who knew nothing about me, my beliefs, or my philosophies. But would that provide comfort for my survivors?

    I think it’s time that I gave these things some serious thought. Death is inevitable so I need to be prepared for it by having documents and information available to my wife and children, documenting my wishes (will, living will, funeral arrangements, etc.), and letting my my desires be known. Though I can fully expect my wishes to be ignored, I need to write my own eulogy and my own funeral service. I’m not going to live forever.

    Like

Comments are closed.