Transistion

When I accepted the project back in February, I only expected it to last six or eight weeks. At first I expected to be finished by the end of March, then mid-April, and then the end of April. At the end of the thirteenth week I had done all I could do. At the end of the day, I turned in my badge and went home.  They’re keeping me on the payroll in case they need my services again.

I’m grateful to have had the opportunity to work on the project and to have it last as long as it did. It was a good place to work and everyone was great to work with. It may have been the first place I’ve worked in quite a long time where I didn’t have to deal with any assholes. It wasn’t without frustrations; there were some things that could have been thought out a bit better but no project goes perfectly. Working there helped me through the transition between my last regular job and retirement. The first retirement check is still over a month away but next week’s paycheck should help me get over the hump.

I’m certain that I will have to occasionally supplement my retirement income with part-time work but I want to work on some projects at home before I worry about that. It’s not the first major transition I’ve gone through but I’ll get through it. I intend to scale back my lifestyle, get rid a lot of shit that’s weighing me down, and simply my life. This afternoon I tweeted that life as a gentleman farmer sounded appealing. It does. I’m looking forward to a simpler life with less stress, more spirit, and more fun.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.