Hardwired to Discriminate

It’s probably true that we are hardwired to discriminate. I think it’s also true that our neural wiring is hardened and reinforced by cultural influences and learned biases. I’ve become quite aware of the influence of learned and cultural prejudices and biases that occur every day and I try not to let them affect my thoughts and actions. Easier said than done

My own life experiences have been, for the most part, diametrically opposed to this hardwired discrimination and the cultural biases I was brought up with. To some extent these experiences have, to some degree, undone some of this wiring. As a human being endeavoring to evolve to a higher level of consciousness, I intellectually know that we are all connected at a genetic and spiritual level and that our differences are actually rather subtle and trivial in comparison with our similarities. My own life experiences support this realization.

This hardwiring needs to be undone. I realize the need to transcend my intellectual knowledge and understanding of these influences and to know it intuitively and be the basis of my thoughts and actions. Intuitive and realized knowledge and understanding comes after the intellectual realization. Rewiring my mind to change my prejudices and biases require constant awareness and conscious effort. It’s difficult but I believe it can be done and needs to be done … by everyone.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.