Lent again?

It occurred to this morning that Ash Wednesday is just a couple of days away. I don’t actually observe Lent but is the one Christian observance that I can appreciate and relate to although I find the common observance of Lent to be fraught with undue frivolity, triviality, and hypocrisy.  Still, I appreciate the idea behind it as a time of renunciation and spiritual cleansing. I imagine Jesus spent those 40 days fasting and meditating and that in his silence and his solitude, he faced both his demons and his own divinity. It’s essentially the same story as the Buddha gaining enlightenment under the Bodhi tree around 500 years earlier.

I can’t spend 40 days in a cave or under a tree but I think I can manage 40 days of sadhana (yoga practice and meditation) for an hour or so a day for 40 days. I can try to renounce my attachments to my desires, my aversions, and the fruits of my actions.

I figure I can start my 40-day sadhana on Ash Wednesday and I’ll finish it six days before Easter. I won’t be using the Sunday loophole.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.