Super Bowl XX…whatever

Today is the culmination of the American football season, the holiest of holy days in the American sports continuum. Two teams from opposite ends of the country will meet upon a playing field and, before all of America, battle it out for a trophy and a coveted ring.

However, I shan’t be partaking in its glory nor will I participate in the hoopla surrounding it. For despite its acclaimed significance, I find it rather trivial, among the most trivial of trivialities. It’s just another football game, another distraction from what should be our real concerns. Will the outcome of this grand competition bring an end to war, poverty, and hunger? Will those whose fingers will bear the coveted championship ring be the champions of human rights? Will they champion the marginalized, the disenfranchised, and the downtrodden? I think not. After the final whistle blows, there will undoubtedly be drunken celebrations in either Boston or Seattle, and come tomorrow, the world be unchanged.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.