Tis the Season…

It’s that time of year again and in social media the arguments begin, most in regard to the 25th of December. Here’s my two cents.

Merry Christmas versus Happy Holidays — I really don’t care what greeting you use. I’m fine with either so use whichever you prefer. Nobody is forcing you to use with one or the other so get over it. You might also consider all of the various holidays that occur in the month of December, most of which have nothing to do with the Christian holiday. There is nothing wrong with covering your bases.

Putting Christ in Christmas — If you feel moved to focus on the religious aspects associated with December 25th then, by all means, do that. It’s your personal choice just as it’s my choice to celebrate it as a secular holiday, that is, to not put Christ in Christmas. There are many people, both Christian and non-Christian who make this choice. Recall that the Puritans, a particularly devout group of Christians, did not celebrate Christmas because they felt that it was too pagan. And consider that Christmas wasn’t even a holiday until sometime in the 4th century CE when a pope appropriated the Roman Saturnalia and declared the culmination of the festival to be Christ’s Mass (Christmas) day. Most of the holiday traditions we observe around the holiday have their roots in pagan customs.

With all that said, I observe Christmas as a secular holiday. That’s not to say that I don’t enjoy Christmas songs, holiday movies, and the like. I do. I feel a spiritual energy around this time of year and I expect this energy has been manifested by people from time immemorial, long before the season was appropriated by the Christians in their evangelical manifesto to convert all the pagan populations of the world. I’m sure it was felt by the Druids, the Celts, the Teutonic tribes and others long before Christianity existed. I doubt the Church realized the true spiritual significance of the season when they appropriated the pagan rites and celebrations, added Jesus, and packaged it as Christmas.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Tis the Season…”

  1. In the war on Christmas, I’ve come out as a conscientious objector and taken a position of neutrality in the whole thing.

    Considering how the wars on drugs, poverty and terrorism have worked out, don’t you think that if there was a war on Christmas, there would be more Christmas?

    Like

Comments are closed.