Thank you for your concern…

Dear Facebook Friend,

Someday you will see that I posted all of my “annoying” and “religious” Facebook posts because I care about you. Your soul matters to God and to me. I would rather you hate me for telling you the truth, than have me lie to you or keep silent to gain your acceptance.

Someone was kind enough to share the Gospel with me and God has opened my eyes to the truth. It’s now my responsibility to do the same for you. That’s what the love of Jesus is about.

Sincerely,

Your Christian Friend

Dear Christian Friend,

Thank you for caring about me and my soul. I appreciate your concern but it’s really unnecessary as my eternal, unchanging soul and I are just fine. We are not in need of salvation and I feel no need to be forgiven for any “sins” I may or may not have committed. Forgiveness is generally for the benefit of the one doing the forgiving, rather than the one being forgiven.

I do not “hate” you for telling me the truth or, rather, your truth. We all follow different paths and because we walk different paths, it does not mean that either of us is lost. If your truth is right for you then I’m glad for you, but your truth may not be right for others. While our truths may appear to be different, at their core, they are much the same.

Yes, my friend, I have read the Canonical Gospels and a few of the Gnostic Gospels as well. I don’t disagree with the teachings of Jesus but I may view them from a  different perspective. I feel that in whatever spiritual path you follow, the teachings are essential, far more important than the beliefs or the rituals.

If I do find your religious posts “annoying” then I’m at fault and I will try to be more open-minded and less judgmental. You are entitled to you beliefs and ideas just as I am entitled to mine. I will not try to sway you follow my path just as I would expect that you will not attempt to sway me to follow your path. As your path may not be right for me, my path may not be right for you.

You stated that your eyes were opened to the truth. Well, my eyes have been opened too. When mine were opened, I saw a new perspective of Divinity and my spiritual paradigm shifted. I also saw that the Christian path was not necessarily the path I should follow. Regardless of what spiritual path we follow, I’m sure that if we stay true to our paths and be open to what awaits us on our path, we will ultimately arrive at the same destination.

“No one saves us but ourselves. No one can and no one may. We ourselves must walk the path.” — The Buddha

Sincerely,

Your Spiritual Brother

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.