Thoughts on Beliefs

“Thou art divine. Live up to it. Feel and realise thy divine nature.”

Sri Swami Sivananda

I strongly suspect there’s an order to the universe; however, I don’t believe in divine will, divine intervention or miracles (as divine acts). I do believe in cause and effect. I also believe that we are all ultimately responsible for our thoughts, words and actions; they have effects far beyond that which we are able to readily observe.

I postulate that the soul is divine in essence and nature and is, therefore, eternal and unchanging. Given its inherent divinity, the soul itself has no need for salvation because it cannot become corrupted nor can it be tainted by sin. In each life journey, our task is to realize our divinity and become one with it. That is our salvation and if it is to be achieved, it is in our lifetime, not after the death of our physical bodies.

When I was young, in my teens, I seemed to have an inkling that spirituality had a significant place in my future. There were fleeting thoughts which seemed out of place because, at the time, I wasn’t religiously or spiritually inclined by any means.I rarely attended church services but I pretty much assumed Christianity as my default religious preference. I wasn’t ignorant of religion or religious teachings but there wasn’t much emphasis on religion growing up. Still, I had the awareness and the knowledge to see incongruities, inconsistencies and contradictions in the religious dogma and practices I’d observed.

Later in life, as I began to read more widely and be exposed to different cultures and beliefs, I began to ponder my religious ideas more and I started to develop my own concepts about faith and religion, still holding on to the assumption that I was, by default, a Christian. Much later on I began investigating Buddhism, Yoga, and Eastern philosophies and I found them quite appealing, fitting in very well with the ideas I’d been developing over the years. Eventually, I came to the conclusion that I had no religion and that having one wasn’t necessary. So I abandoned the assumption of Christianity, liberating myself from the burdens of dogma, ideology and belief.

I am not an atheist. I do have concepts of the Divine and I often contemplate its nature. If anything, I’m probably agnostic because I openly admit that I don’t know the nature of the Divine which I believe to be beyond name and form and therefore beyond our sensory perception. Anyone who claims to know the nature of God, the will of God, or God’s “plan” is either delusional or is attempting to delude you.

I see the Divine manifested everywhere in everything but I don’t manifest or personalize the Divine as some sort of supreme being or entity looking over us, acting on our behalf,  controlling our destinies or sitting in judgment. That may be convenient for many but I find such manifestations and personalizing essentially place limits upon what is inherently limitless. I will, however, occasionally manifest or personalize various aspects of divine nature to aid in manifesting or drawing out qualities from within.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Thoughts on Beliefs”

  1. Do I believe in God? If you are talking about popular Christian concept of God then the answer to that is “No, I do not share your belief.” But I am not an atheist. I have contemplated, pondered and reflected upon the nature of God, Brahman, the Divine or whatever name you give it and I have formulated my own concepts and ideas about Divinity and spirituality. These ideas are always evolving and subject to change as new information, new evidence, new ideas and new perspectives are revealed. This doesn’t mean that I’m lost, confused or in need of salvation. Quite the contrary, I’ve never felt more grounded and connected in my life.

    Like

Comments are closed.