You could do a lot better

Whilst watching an episode of Seinfeld this evening, I noted a line that George said that stuck with me. In a scene at the restaurant, he said to a woman who was with her husband, “You could do better than him.” Unintentionally, this remark caused the couple to break up and consider divorce.

This got me to thinking. In any intimate relationship (significant others, marriage, being a couple, etc.), we can probably do better but, for whatever reasons, we settled for the one we stayed with, not that there’s anything wrong with that. Any relationship is, to some degree, a compromise or, rather, a series of compromises. If the relationship is strong then we become satisfied with the choices we made and find contentment.

In reality, life is all about compromise. Any decision we make that affects those around us is based upon compromises. You often hear people say, “Never compromise.” The reality is that you are always compromising. Still there are some things that should never be compromised such as your integrity, your compassion, your love.

Sometimes I feel that I’m making compromises with which I feel uncomfortable. I’m content with what I have yet, deep inside, I feel a need to follow a different calling or a higher path. My current path, the compromise, provides for my material needs and some degree of comfort, yet this other path that beckons holds out the promise to provide for other, deeper needs. It’s as if I’m the rope in a tug-of-war between them. I’m sure there is a middle ground, a compromise between them that will satisfy both the material and the spiritual. I’m looking for the point of balance.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.