Papal Severance Package

It’s interesting that Pope Benedict XVI has announced that he will resign effective the end of February because of his health when most of his predecessors have stuck it out to the bitter end. The last pope to step down was Gregory XII who was forced to abdicate in 1415 to end the Western Schism. At the time there were three popes: Pope Gregory XII, Antipope Benedict XIII at Avignon and Alexander V/John XXIII at Pisa. Apparently, it was a very messy and confusing situation.

After Pope Gregory’s abdication, he spent the rest of his life was spent in peaceful obscurity. (I like the sound of that.) With Pope Benedict XVI’s pending abdication, I have a few questions.

  1. What kind of severance package does he get?
  2. Will he still have Swiss Guards protecting him?
  3. Will he retain papal infallibility?
  4. Will he still be able to speak on behalf of God?

Inquiring minds want to known.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Papal Severance Package”

  1. I’ve seen news recently that when Pope Benedict XVI once again becomes Emeritus Bishop of Rome, Joseph Aloisius Ratzinger, the Vatican will provide him protection from any attempt to prosecute him in connection with sexual abuse cases around the world. I guess you could call it Papal Immunity, a golden get out jail free card. They do take care of their own.

    I’ve also heard that he’ll be getting a 2500 Euro a month retirement. I have no idea what that is in US dollars, but I’m sure his accommodations at the Vatican will quite nice and at no cost to him. Still, it’s a better retirement package than I’m ever likely to get.

    Like

Comments are closed.