Monthly Detritus Report (11-12)

Random chatter from the Monkey Mind as it leaps from limb to limb, howls, scratches its balls and flings feces at passersby…

  • 02
    • We can choose to honor naturalness rather than condemn it… Naturist Math ~ East Texas Area Naturists
    • You’re Welcome (For What It’s Worth)
    • November 2nd, Christmas music in Walmart. Why am I not surprised? One holiday at time, please. I have nothing against Christmas and I like the traditional carols, but each holiday in its own season. The Christmas season begins on Black Friday.
    • Do we really ever get our shit together? Eleven Steps to a Happy Life | My Joy Practice ~ Heather Church via Yoganonymous [I miss being the age when I thought I would have my shit together by the time I was the age I am now.]
  • 03
    • Watching The Big Lebowski That was one weird-ass movie. I loved the Dude but the movie was weird.
    • Watched Dr. Detroit … classic Akroyd
  • 04
    • From a long lost fragment of a dream: “Men want to drive the cars of the bourgeoisie.” I have no idea what it’s supposed to mean.
  • 05
    • @RevRick: I’m driving the pickup truck of the proletariat.
  • 06
    • Erection Day. We’ll probably be screwed no matter who’s victorious.
    • @RevRick: Probably best to supply your own condoms & lube.
  • 08
    • Love the irony. Another reason I don’t participate in the madness. “Black Friday: Because only in America, people trample others for sales exactly one day after being thankful for what they already have.”
    • What a few minutes of focused breathing and a 10-minute meditation can do. No epiphanies, no revelations, no enlightenment. Just a few blissful moments of silence, peace and calm. Sometimes that’s just what’s needed.
  • 09
    • Happy Birthday Buddha!
  • 10
    • Tried to obtain a “Certified pre-owned” phone through Verzion store, web site and customer service. After an hour of frustration, finally went to Amazon and got another Droid X for $115. Thanks a lot Verizon. Will activating it be as painful? Why do we have to be slaves to our wireless carriers?
  • 11
    • Veterans Day. Let us remember all veterans past and present from all nations. They may have served for different reasons, different ideologies, different national policies but they all share common sacrifices. The best way to honor our veterans is to exercise the freedom they served to defend. Exercise your freedom every day. Question authority. Hold officials at every level of government accountable. If they are not serving the citizens, they are not serving and should be removed from office. We have the power to hold our government accountable and we need to exercise it or lose it.
    • Good advice. “Let us not seek the Republican answer or the Democratic answer, but the right answer. Let us not seek to fix the blame for the past. Let us accept our own responsibility for the future.” – John F. Kennedy
    • Why can’t we do that here? (Other than the oil companies’ stranglehold on our collective testicles.) – “German solar powered plants produced a world record 22 giga-watts of electricity per hour, equal to 20 nuclear powered stations at full capacity. Solar power in the United States has been demonized as a ‘Left Wing conspiracy’.”
    • I shared this within 5 seconds. TEDxSF – Mel Robbins – F— YOU – How To Stop Screwing Yourself Over
  • 12
    • Today is November 12th. Veterans’ Day was yesterday. I’m still planning to get a free meal somewhere this evening.
    • Dining with my wife at Texas Roadhouse, Huber Heights. I enjoyed my free meal.
  • 13
  • 14
    • Waiting for Rx at Wright-Patterson AFB Medical Center. Muscle relaxants and steroids. Better living through chemistry.
  • 15
  • 16
    • Excellent, fully agree with it. Our Humanity Uniform
    • Lunch with Tina at Frisch’s in Huber. My GPS thinks I’m in Vandalia. … GPS finally found me – with Justina Romig at Friches Big Boy.
    • Watching Barbarella. Not a great film but pleasantly quirky. I had forgotten how bad an actress Jane Fonda is.
  • 17
    • Watching “1984”. I think it’s supposed to be a warning not a manual.
  • 27
    • Acting as the responsible adult until such time as I am relieved of my post.
  • 29
    • Came home to find a hole where the end of my driveway used to be. Hope they finish the job tomorrow. And I hope my neighbor doesn’t mind us using his driveway to access ours via our front lawn.

Compiled from this month’s Twitter and Facebook entries.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.