Blasphemy Day

Of all the strange “crimes” that human beings have legislated out of nothing, “blasphemy” is the most amazing, with “obscenity” and “indecent exposure” fighting it out for second and third place.
Robert A. Heinlein, Time Enough for Love

Who are the victims of blasphemy, obscenity and indecent exposure? Those who believe they are harmed are those whose beliefs and sensibilities are challenged by ideas and acts that are outside their narrow structures and comfort zones. The ones who cry out “Blasphemy! Obscene! Indecent!” have chosen to be victims.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Blasphemy Day”

  1. I didn’t really make any special effort to blaspheme on Sunday but I don’t feel that I need a special day for it. Anyone who reads this blog with any regularity has probably already come to the conclusion that I’m a blasphemer of mega proportions and destined to an eternity in Hell. If it makes them feel better to believe that then what’s the harm?

    It’s my truth, what I’ve observed, experienced and tested to be true. It may run counter to what you believe, what you’ve observed, what you’ve experienced, or what you’ve tested to be true. You do occasionally question your beliefs and assumptions to see if they still hold true, don’t you?

    Or to put it another way … one man’s blasphemy is another man’s truth.

    Like

Comments are closed.