Jesus resurrected in Monroe

 

5dfl-jesus

After the “King of Kings” statue (aka Big Butter Jesus aka Touchdown Jesus) was destroyed by a lightning strike in June 2010, the Solid Rock Church apparently didn’t get the hint and have erected a new statue. This one is officially known as “Light of the World” but I’ve heard it referred to as “Hug Me Jesus” and “$5 Foot-Long Jesus” (from the Subway ad).

I’m not a big fan of graven images or idolatry but it’s their church. As a church, I think the money could have been more wisely spent honoring Jesus in a more appropriate way like healing the sick or helping the poor and needy. You know, something Jesus might have done or approved of.

The statue is to be formally dedicated on September 30th which, incidentally, happens to be International Blasphemy Day. I love the irony.

Related post: Touchdown Jesus Destroyed by an Act of God

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Jesus resurrected in Monroe”

  1. I really don’t care one way or another about this new Jesus statue. I just don’t see the point in it other than to glorify the Solid Rock Church. I don’t think it does anything to glorify Jesus. It reminds me of Mathew 6:5, “And when thou prayest, thou shalt not be as the hypocrites [are]: for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and in the corners of the streets, that they may be seen of men. Verily I say unto you, They have their reward.”

    It seems to me that a church’s resources could be put to better and more effective use through acts of compassion and charity. Isn’t that what Jesus would have done? If you want to glorify Jesus, isn’t there a better way to do it than a 65-ft graven image?

    Like

Comments are closed.