Double-Secret Probation

It has been years since I’ve put a mass-consumption dining establishment on Double Secret Probation. At various times I’ve given this status to McDonald’s, Wendy’s, Taco Bell and Steak-n-Shake franchises, usually for poor service. Tonight, a Skyline Chili franchise joined the hall of shame.

We came in, found a table and sat down. A server came by and took our drink order. So far so good. Ten minutes later we were still waiting for the server to bring our drinks and take our order. We flagged down a staff member to inquire about our drinks and she asked who our server was. She doesn’t know which server is assigned to our table? And what difference does that make to us? We just want our beverages and to place our order. While she went off to find this mystery server, we decided we’d had enough and walked out. My wife may or may not have talked to the manager. I was already out the door.

It will be a long time before I patronize their business again. It could be years. Steak-n-Shake was on double-secret probation for several years before I gave them a second chance. If you want my patronage, you have to earn it each and every time I enter your establishment. I know when my patronage isn’t appreciated. I’ll take my business elsewhere. Remember, customers don’t come into the store to make the shopkeeper happy. The shopkeeper is there to make the customers happy. I am not a happy customer.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

2 thoughts on “Double-Secret Probation”

  1. On the 6th of December, we decided to give the Huber Heights Skyline Chili another chance. We were greeted at the door by the manager and were served promptly and competently. This was a complete turn around from our previous visit. When a customer inquires about his or her order, don’t go off looking for the server who should have taken care of it, just take care of it.

    Anyway, they are now off secret double probation but it may still take a while to earn our confidence and loyalty.

    Like

Comments are closed.