Monthly Detritus Report (07-12)

Random chatter from the Monkey Mind as it leaps from limb to limb, howls, scratches its balls and flings feces at passersby…

  • 03
    • Yesterday was What’s-her-name’s birthday. Yes, I fondly remember my first lust but my attachment to the memory is fading.
  • 04
  • 05
    • When do I get the job, the car, the computer and the credit I deserve? Wait. Maybe I already have them.
  • 07
  • 08
  • 10
    • Social stigma, adolescent attitudes and puritanical perceptions don’t change over night. Legally Topless — But Will They? – All Nudist
    • I wonder what horrifying percentage of my life I spend watching a little blue bar move left to right across a computer screen. Then again, I really don’t want to know. Knowing this would only confirm how much of my life is being wasted.
  • 11
    • This morning I saw that the Grass Gestapo had placed their “sign of shame” on my neighbor’s dead lawn. Will they come for me next? Never again!
  • 12
  • 13
    • Re: the Viacom-DirecTV battle. It’s bad enough that I’m paying for channels I don’t or won’t watch but now I’m paying for channels I can’t watch. I’m rethinking this whole television thing. It is so overrated. The medium has so much potential but has achieved appallingly so little.
    • My son just gave me a copy of “Bhagavad Gita As It Is” by His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivendanta Swami Prabhupada. He had gotten it as a birthday gift and figured I’d appreciate it. Thanks Rob.
    • Paulsen in 2012.
  • 16
    • Don’t Frack My Mother Sean Lennon is great. Looks just like his dad but sounds a bit like Arlo Guthrie. Yoko is … Yoko.
  • 19
    • “The only reason a great many American families don’t own an elephant is that they have never been offered an elephant for a dollar down and easy weekly payments.” ~ Mad Magazine [I’m sure there’s a lot of truth to that. I can imagine the info-mercial for it.]
    • Do people have a deep-seated psychological need to be offended, a compulsion to find things that offend them?
  • 20
    • Watching ‘The Tudors’ on Netflix. I enjoy historical dramas.
  • 21
    • Cleaned out the shed this morning. Found stuff I haven’t seen in years, some it I’ve been looking for. Other stuff will go to a yard sale or given away. A truckload is destined for the landfill. But it is neat and organized now.
  • 24
    • At this time I have nothing to add to the rhetoric, er, discussion.
    • “There’s an important difference between giving up and letting go.” – Jessica Hatchigan
  • 25
    • Core yoga plus bloated gassy feeling is not a good combination. I have never held mula bandha for so long (even during Savasana). Feeling better now that the gas has finally passed. Mint tea in the works now.
  • 26
    • Still not feeling any inclination to participate in any of the ongoing rhetoric. Keeping my truthiness to myself for now.
  • 27
    • You know that children are growing up when they start asking questions that have answers. – John J. Plomp. Ain’t that the truth…
  • 31
    • Society may often burden us with arbitrary requirements to wear clothing but wearing clothing is rarely a necessity.
    • This morning I noticed the church down the road had a “sign of shame.” Even God has to mow his lawn.

Compiled from this month’s Twitter and Facebook entries.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.