Bin Laden

Bin Laden’s alleged death is the main topic in the news and on Facebook at the moment. I don’t understand all the celebration. His death doesn’t solve any of the underlying problems that lead to the 9/11 attack. There will certainly be a successor and, I fear, there will be reprisal attacks. Was Bin Laden’s death or capture our primary national policy objective in Afghanistan? Billions of dollars and thousands of lives spent for the demise of one man? I hope Obama isn’t saying “Mission accomplished.” It’s not over. The real Jihad may be just around the corner, with Bin Laden as their martyr. I don’t see any reason to celebrate.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

3 thoughts on “Bin Laden”

  1. The world may very well be better off without Osama bin Laden but I can’t find it within me to celebrate his nor anyone else’s death. His demise will not end terrorism or Jihad. It may serve to instigate more. The fear, hate and ignorance that feed terrorism still exist as does the fear, hate and ignorance that terrorism feeds. I still see no cause for celebration.

    Like

  2. I saw a program on the mission to get bin Laden yesterday. I can understand why they didn’t take him alive as capturing him could have created a multitude of political and logistical problems.

    The Islamic tradition of burial at sea doesn’t make a lot of sense to me but maybe I need to educate myself on that. Still, burying him at sea at an undisclosed location was a great idea. No one can build a shrine on his grave.

    Other that the helicopter mishap and the complications it caused, the mission went well. From what I saw in the program it was a good example of good work and cooperation by our intelligence agencies. Some information may have been gleaned from “aggressive” interrogation techniques but that doesn’t justify their use.

    Like

  3. I feel that in the Bin Laden operation and, in the Afghanistan campaign in general, Special Forces have been inappropriately placed in the limelight which, in my opinion, has lessened their effectiveness as a fighting force. Our special forces are most effective when they work covertly, behind the scenes, and out of the limelight.

    When announcing the demise of Osama Bin Laden, all President Obama needed to say was that Bin Laden was killed in a raid on his compound. End of story. There was no need to disclose that it was Seal Team Six or even that it was conducted by U.S. Special Forces. We should have let the world speculate on who did it and what became of Bin Laden’s corpse.

    Like

Comments are closed.