The Sound of Silence

Quote of the day: “I will not let anyone walk through my mind with their dirty feet.” ~ Mahatma Gandhi

Song of the day: The Sound of Silence
Artist: Simon and Garfunkel
Album: Wednesday Morning, 3 AM
Released: 1966


What is your favorite sound? What is a sound you’ve never heard, that you hope to hear someday?

To pick a favorite sound is a difficult choice as there are so many sounds that I enjoy such as the sound of good music or the sound of children laughing. I’m going to go with “Om”, the fundamental sound of the universe. It connects me to something greater than myself and puts me in a calm, receptive state for yoga or meditation. What sound that I’ve never heard but I hope to hear someday? That would be silence, the absence of chatter in my mind. The silence in which I can hear the True Self, the Divine within, speak to me.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.