Memoir from Hell

It took me over five years to discover that the Gates of Hell had no locks on them. All that time I had been holding myself prisoner when I could have left my bondage at any time. With that realization, I left. I opened the gates and walked out, leaving my guilt and shame behind me as I forgave myself for my sins.

Whether or not anyone else forgave me didn’t really matter. I had atoned for my sins and I felt it was time to put it all behind me, apply what I had learned and move on with my life. Suffering is a choice and I chose not to suffer any longer.

The matter is closed, the records are sealed and the topic is not open to discussion. That’s all I have to say about that.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

2 thoughts on “Memoir from Hell”

  1. My life has been so much better since I granted myself forgiveness for my sins and left my Hell behind me along with the guilt and shame. I’d also like to express my gratitude to a certain IT director for releasing me from my other Hell.

    Forgiveness for our transgressions must begin with forgiving ourselves and that forgiveness must originate from within. We must accept the truth, however painful it might be, and accept that our actions cannot be undone. We must learn from past experiences but not dwell upon them or let our guilt and regrets stand in the way of the present.

    If forgiveness from those we have hurt is forthcoming, it will only be after they have also let go of the past, learned from it, and have grown beyond it. If they grant forgiveness, it will be in their own time, in their own way, and on their terms. We have no reasonable expectation to receive forgiveness and it should not be a prerequisite for our happiness, for our peace, our liberation, or our salvation.

    If only God can forgive, then it is from the divinity within us that it arises.

    Like

Comments are closed.