Two Wolves

A little something I received in an email from a friend the other day:

One evening an old Cherokee told his grandson about a battle that goes on inside people. He said, “My son, the battle is between two wolves inside us all.

“One is Evil – It is anger, envy, jealousy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.

“The other is Good – It is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion and faith.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather: “Which wolf wins?”

The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

That’s a pretty good allegory although I don’t necessarily separate things into Good versus Evil, Black versus White or Red versus Blue. Categorizing things in this way is far too limiting, ignoring the infinite shades of gray in between. It’s the gray areas we need to explore in order to find the real Truth. Still, if you feed the good stuff, life is much better.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

2 thoughts on “Two Wolves”

  1. Good way to look at things. Another, though I’m not a Believer, is ‘What would Jesus do?’. Yeah, I know, kind of trite but really not a bad idea if we assign the best of meanings to it. And easy to just stop and think: Is it good that I do this?

    Then again, they DID nail him to a cross for thinking that way. Come to think of it, they still do…

    Like

  2. The problem I see with WWJD is that many of those who claim to be his followers usually do just the opposite of what Jesus would do. They believe in the “Get of jail free” salvation.

    Like

Comments are closed.