Touchdown Jesus Destroyed by an Act of God

When I heard about this I felt I had to say something because it’s just too good to pass up. The irony of it alone makes it worthy of comment.

touchdown-jesus-lightning2

touchdown-jesus-lightning1

Around 11:15 last night, Monroe’s world famous landmark, the Church of the Rock’s 62-foot tall “King of Kings” statue (AKA Touchdown Jesus AKA Big Butter Jesus) was struck by lightning and burned.

I expected people to see this as a sign from God although I’m not sure everyone got the message.

Church members said the lightning strike and destructive fire stunned them. Many of them thought it was a sign they need to pay attention to.

“I’m thinking it’s a sign from Jesus that we need to learn something, as Christians, as a whole, we’re not doing something right.”

“It scares me, it really does, I think about what that symbolizes, to me that’s a sign and not a good one.”

According to the article on the WHIO web site, the structure’s outer shell was made of wood and Styrofoam, covered in fiberglass and resin, making it extremely flammable. (Essentially a giant Styrofoam-covered lightning rod.) Church officials said the statue “weighed eight tons, which is about 16,000 pounds.” (About 16,000 pounds?) When the statue was put in place in 2004, it cost $500,000 and about 8,000 man-hours in development and installation. [Monroe Fire Chief Mark] Neu said that church officials, “Plan to replace the statue, make sure they have back what they put up, that’s their intent, what they told me tonight.”

There must be better ways to spend half a million dollars and 8,000 man-hours doing God’s work. Perhaps God’s message here was to put that time and money into something that will benefit our fellow man. Feeding the hungry and sheltering the homeless immediately come to mind. You know, something that Jesus might have done with it instead of building a colossal flammable statue in His likeness.

Let’s close with the following…

Amen

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

6 thoughts on “Touchdown Jesus Destroyed by an Act of God”

  1. I’ve had my say on it. Whatever the Solid Rock Church does, whether I agree with it or not, is what they’ll do. If they want to erect another graven image that’s their business. Either way, it has no bearing on my path to enlightenment. It’s been my observation that most people never listen to God anyway.

    Like

  2. OK, one more comment. In a Facebook discussion, I saw the statue referred to as “Quicksand Jesus.” I hadn’t looked at it that way before but it did look like Jesus was sinking in quicksand and reaching out asking for help. Looking at it from that perspective, the “Beacon of Hope” becomes a symbol of hopelessness and a cry for help.

    Like

  3. “There must be better ways to spend half a million dollars and 8,000 man-hours doing God’s work.”

    Spot on. Besides, how many people do you think Touchdown Jesus converts every year? The answer is probably…0.

    Like

  4. Ohio church plans to rebuild destroyed ‘Touchdown Jesus’ statue (ABC Action News, Tampa, FL, 06/16/2010)

    “We don’t grieve over fiberglass,” Bishop added. Instead, she asked others to remember flooding victims in Arkansas and Oklahoma or the people of the Gulf Coast affected by the ongoing oil spill.

    Instead of spending half a million dollars to help flood victims or those affected by the BP oil spill, she asked us to “remember” them. Which do you think would have brought greater benefit?

    I hear the statue is being rebuilt. I don’t see that as doing the work of the Lord. Rather, I see it as glorifying the collective ego of the Solid Rock Church.

    Like

  5. The other day I got an email in response to this post asking if I’d allow this person to be a guest blogger. This person apparently represents (or claims to represent) a conservative Christian organization. It’s quite obvious he or she did not read the post or any of my other religious commentary as it’s hardly “conservative.” I suspect it was generated by a bot searching for certain keywords like Jesus or church. I can’t find the email. I guess I deleted it.

    By the way, I’m not interested in guest bloggers but they’re free to submit comments.

    Like

Comments are closed.