Deep Thoughts

I was perusing some yoga blogs this evening when I came across Deep Thoughts on Grounding Thru the Sit Bones. The post was about how wisdom comes with age and the differences in how we expend our energies and place our priorities in our youth and in our later years.

I particularly like was the paragraph about her 80-year-old yoga teacher. It was quite inspiring. I hope to be still be doing asana when I’m 80.

One thing I find so inspiring about my teacher in Madison, is that even though she inhabits an obviously aging body, she moves with such grace and ease. I watched her feet while we were doing Adho Mukha Svanasana, and they looked so strong and balanced. Nothing scraggly or misshapen, no bulging veins or discoloration. Instead of seeing her body as something that must be tamed and offered up for others’ approval, she presents it as an accomplice in good health. She works with it, rather than against it, accepting the limitations (she now uses a headstand-chair) but still moving through all the poses her much-younger students obviously struggle with. I guess that’s what 50 years of yoga will do…coupled with a good attitude.

Personally, I don’t think I’d want to be 20 again. It was a fun adventure but I’m content with my memories of it. Now I’m more inclined to accept things as they are, make improvements where I can, and strive to find some peace and calm. I’m taking it one day at a time and enjoying all the wonderful shades of gray in between black and white.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.