Clueless and Stupid

Even though I shan’t be watching the Super Bowl today, I thought I’d note the occasion by posting this banned ad:

Perhaps it was banned because the network executives had their heads up their asses and felt that it hit a little too close to home. That would be my guess. Maybe there’s a subtle, subliminal sexual connotation there. There could be very flexible men out there who get a sexual thrill out of placing their head inside their own anus.

There’s a third, much less likely explanation. It may have been banned because it degrading to men. In advertising and sitcoms, men, particularly married men, are usually portrayed as completely clueless idiots. You rarely, if ever, see women portrayed in that manner because if they did, women’s groups would pitch a bitch about it being sexist and degrading to women. Portraying women as stupid and clueless is sexist while portraying men that way is high comedy. Yet men don’t complain. The wife says, “That’s just like my husband.” The husband smiles sheepishly and says, “Yes, Dear. You’re right.” Maybe we are clueless idiots.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.