BARF Therapy

Pay no attention to that man in the dark little room at the end of the house. He’s just doing what he finds necessary to keep his sanity. He is, to borrow a phrase from the late Douglas Adams, mostly harmless.

Really, the noises, the obscenities, the ranting and raving coming from the man-cave are not any cause for concern. I’m having what I call a BARF Storm. Instead of bottling up all of my anger and frustration inside, I let it spew out of me and after a few minutes, I’m fine. It’s kind of like primal scream therapy but not as intense.

BARF is an acronym for Bitterness, Anger, Resentment & Frustration. I used to have frequent BARF storms while commuting to and from the stress and frustration filled environment that was my last full-time job. Not all the BARF was work-related, some of it came from other sources. I’ve been calmer in recent months but, occasionally, there is still the need to let it all out. These days my most common source of frustration is technology, followed closely by traffic. Pressure builds up and has to be released. There are far worse ways to release it.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.