Should God be back in America?

Do you think God should be back in America?

This was a Facebook poll with only a yes or no response. Neither choice seemed to apply so I’m responding to it here. I have to answer it with another question — “Did God leave America in the first place?” If God is omnipresent, how was it possible for him to leave?

I suspect that people may have abandoned or altered their belief in God, however they perceive their deity. There was a shift in how they worshipped, what they worshiped, or where they placed their deity in the lives. God is still there, assuming, of course, you believe in a divine presence, a supreme being, the Force, or whatever.

I’ve never really understood the Judeo-Christian personification and anthropomorphism of their deity. Doesn’t that place limitations on an entity that is supposedly infinite? Throughout recorded history Man has always attributed human qualities and emotions to the objects of his worship. Our religions become mythology once someone comes along and convinces us that we should believe in their god.

And there are so many contractions. God is everywhere yet he comes and goes. God is always with us yet he forsakes us. God wants us to love our neighbor yet we fight wars and commit genocide and other atrocities in his name. God’s love is infinite yet he loves us exclusively and he hates those other people (and those people believe God loves them exclusively and hates us). It bemuses me that Jews, Christians and Muslims all profess to worship the God of Abraham yet those who worship the God of Abraham differently are heathens and infidels.

I don’t perceive an anthropomorphic deity with human emotions and thought processes who takes a personal interest in my life or anyone else’s or favors one group of people over another. I like the concept of a divine presence that’s a universal energy or consciousness with which we attempt to bring ourselves into harmony and oneness. Maybe the Jedi concept of the The Force has some merit. It seems at least as valid as the other beliefs out there. If that doesn’t work for you, you’re free to choose your own path; there an infinite number to choose from so find what works for you.

Say nothing of my religion. It is known to myself and my God alone. Its evidence before the world is to be sought in my life; if that has been honest and dutiful to society, the religion which has regulated it cannot be a bad one.

Thomas Jefferson

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.