Losing my faith

I’m not a conservative nor am I a liberal. I’m not even middle of the road. I don’t claim to be a Democrat, a Republican, or a Libertarian. So, what am I politically? I am disillusioned and I have lost faith in my government in every aspect, save one. I do have complete faith in their ability to fuck up a wet dream.

Though it survived many trials, some that would have destroyed most nations, and has triumphed over incredible odds, today I can’t help but think the great American experiment in democracy has fallen far short of the dream our founding fathers had for it. Partisan politics, corruption, greed, special interests, monolithic bureaucracies, and overall incompetence are destroying that dream from within. Where is the “government of the people, by the people, for the people” that Lincoln spoke of? It has become the government of, by, and for the corporations and special interests.

“America will never be destroyed from the outside. If we falter and lose our freedoms, it will be because we destroyed ourselves.” — Abraham Lincoln

Meanwhile, the rights of the citizenry continue to be eroded and government agencies operate outside their charters with virtually no oversight, all in the name of protecting us from the evil specter of terrorism. In essence, we have done what Benjamin Franklin advised against. We have traded liberty for the promise of security.

“They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.” — Benjamin Franklin

“The natural process of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground.” — Thomas Jefferson

I would rather have liberty than false security. I would rather be free than live in fear because you can not be free when you live in fear, be it in fear of terrorists or in fear of your own government. In the Declaration of Independence, Jefferson stated, “Governments are instituted among men, deriving their just Powers from the Consent of the Governed.” Did we really consent to this government? Do we have the very government our founding fathers warned us about?

I had high hopes for an Obama presidency, hopes for a refreshing change in direction for the nation but those hopes are fading. To date, little has changed. Maybe President Obama will come through in the next three years but I’m feeling very pessimistic that there will be any significant changes before 2012.

Here’s your challenge, Mr. Obama. Surprise me and restore my faith in the ideal of American democracy. Restore the Constitution, make it a “government of the people, by the people, for the people” once again, and restore our respect and credibility in the world community. I realize it’s a tall order Are you up to it, Mr. President?

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Losing my faith”

  1. With the 2012 election less than four months away, the challenge I put before President Obama still has not been met nor has any apparent effort been made to meet it. I’m very disappointed with this administration. Little has changed in Washington, DC except some of the names. I’ve seen nothing that distinguishes this administration from the preceding administration other than a better command of the English language and a greater willingness to “flip-flop” on issues. Both are improvements but not the changes I was hoping for.

    Like

Comments are closed.