Cover the stink

Most television commercials bother me to some degree but the Fabreze ad that’s currently running kinda grinds my gears.

In this ad, a teen-aged boy is expecting a couple of girls to come over and study. His mom comments about how his room stinks, as if she hasn’t ventured in there in quite a while. Does she tell him to clean his room? No. She hands him a bottle of Fabreze so he can spray everything down and make it smell nice.

The apparent message here is that it’s easier to (and therefore better) to cover up the mess than to actually clean it up. That seems to be endemic in our society. Cover up the problems with some cosmetic façade or give it some kind of politically correct spin to make it sound positive instead of actually dealing with it and solving the root problem.

Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored.
Aldous Huxley

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

1 thought on “Cover the stink”

  1. And this mom is going to allow her teen-age son to be alone in his bedroom with two teen-age girls? What is she using for brains? I would have given my left nut to be in that scenario as a teenager. The only thing I would have been studying would have been anatomy.

    Like

Comments are closed.