Spam IRS email

I got the following in my email to day and it smelled fishy:

ATTN: Dear Applicant,
2009 – Recalculation Tax Refund

After the last annual calculation of your fiscal activity we have determined that you are eligible to receive a tax refund of $284.23

Your TRN (TAX REFUND NUMBER): 2 7 9 0 2 1 6 8 1 5, please fill the payment form attached in the email. Please submit the tax refund and allow us 3-9 business days in order to process it.

Note: For security reasons, we recommend that you close your browser after you have finished accessing your refund status.
– For security reasons, we will record your ip-address and date.
– Deliberate wrong inputs are criminally pursued and indicted.

Best Regards,
George Hoffman
Tax Credits Office Agent
tax-credits@irs.gov
Telephone Assistance for Individuals:
Toll-Free, 1-800-829-1040

Why would the IRS send me an email? If I were due an additional refund, they’d notify me via USPS. The attached form had a double extension — .pdf.htm which I thought was unusual. I opened the file in a text editor and noted that they were requesting a credit card number and my ATM pin number. If I’m due a refund, why would they need a credit card number? No legitimate business or agency would ask for an ATM pin number and only a fool would provide it.

The email header contained the following received from information: mail.moi.gov.kw (Kuwait). The whole email smelled rotten. People need to beware of scams, especially if there’s a unsolicited request for a credit card number or an ATM pin number. Credit card numbers shouldn’t be given unless you know who you’re dealing with and you initiated the transaction. PIN numbers should never be given for ANY reason.

To report phishing or scam emails purporting to be from the IRS go to the IRS web site for instructions.

Just a community service, for what it’s worth…

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.