A Visit from Bruce Green

My old buddy Bruce Green paid me a visit this morning, just as he visits every Windows user from time to time. You know the guy, Bruce Green of Death, the one who turns your screen blue and emblazens it with cryptic messages.

Fortunately, he only visited me with a simple hardware problem which was easily remedied. It could have been much worse. After all, I’m dealing with Windows, an “archaic” version that has worked quite well for me over the years but is starting to show signs of age. Microsoft still provides updates but otherwise doesn’t support it and I’ve found that some software products no longer support it.

It looks as though I may have to bite the bullet and upgrade to XP, another OS on its way out. I’ve been putting it off since I know it will be a pain in the ass to prepare for the upgrade and it doesn’t play well with 2000 Active Directory, particularly at boot-up. So much for login scripts and group policies. I still haven’t found any work arounds to force XP to submit to AD. If anyone has any ideas, please let me know. Leave a comment or email me. Upgrading to 2003 or later isn’t really a viable option. You’d have thought M$ would have released a patch for 2000 Server to update AD but that wouldn’t play into their plan to force upgrades and achieve world domination.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.