FWIW: Lost in Space

Star Wars, Star Trek, Battlestar Galactica, Serenity, Alien, 2001—there is a long list of movies and TV shows that take place in space. Which is your favorite?

Although there are science fiction TV series, movies, and books that I enjoy, I’m not a real fan of the genre. Of the films and series listed above, I’d have to say that I probably enjoyed the Star Wars the most. It had a good story of good vs evil as well as interesting and believable characters. I liked that George Lucas had created a universe and a history for it and he was able to keep it fairly straight throughout the saga. I’m sure there were some apparent contradictions but so what?

I wasn’t much of a Star Trek when the series first aired but I came to appreciate it in syndication and when the movies came out. Still, I’m not a diehard fan and couldn’t rattle off any particulars about either the television shows or the movies. I liked how the original series and Next Generation tackled social and moral issues although at times it was a bit tedious when I was merely seeking entertainment.

I liked the 2001 movies although I don’t remember them very well. I remember watching Battlestar Galactic but it really didn’t catch my interest.

As far as other science fiction offerings go, I enjoy reading some of the classic authors like Robert Heinlein, H. G. Wells, Jules Verne, Ray Bradbury, and Douglas Adams. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy greatly influenced my outlook on life.

big tung

Don’t Panic!

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.