Prime Time

Song: Lawyers In Love
Artist: Jackson Browne
Album: Lawyers In Love
Released: 1983


Today’s Quote: “Of course I’ve got lawyers. They are like nuclear weapons; I’ve got ’em ’cause everyone else has. But as soon as you use them they screw up everything.” ~ Danny DeVito


DVD_CouplingThe Coupling DVD set arrived a couple of days after Christmas and I just finished watching all four seasons to include deleted scenes, out takes, interviews, and behind the scenes bonus material. It’s an excellent series and there really isn’t anything I’ve seen on American network television that’s comparable. I highly recommend it.

Of course, I find don’t find much on American network television that’s qualifies as quality programming. Even the cable and satellite channels are slipping in that area. That includes the so-called informational and educational channels. They’re more about drama and sensationalism than information and education. Most American television is so LCD (lowest common denominator).

Friends is an obvious comparison until you’ve watched a few episodes. You begin to identify with some of the characters and you find yourself identifying things from your own relationships. There’s a subtle Seinfeld influence but the show isn’t about nothing. It’s about relationships and the baggage that comes with them.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.