Out of the darkness

Song: Lights Out
Artist: UFO
Album: Strangers In The Night
Released: 1976


Today’s Quote: “Our houses are such unwieldy property that we are often imprisoned rather than housed in them.” ~ Henry David Thoreau, Walden


The power has been back on for almost a week and I’m still trying to catch up on email, blogs, journals, and stuff that piled up during the eight day power outage. The network and the servers came back up without any problems. Except for my job, the lack of money, and a few other things my life seems to be lacking, life is good.

After the power came back on I noticed that Mama’s hard drive was clicking and that’s not good. Luckily, I had a couple of spare drives handy. But I must have done something to piss off the gods because it took me all evening and two hard drives to get XP loaded on it. I had wanted to go back to 2000 because XP does some quirky things with my network in that my group policies aren’t running on it. I’ve found some information on getting XP to cooperate with Windows 2000 Active Directory. Hopefully, I’ll find something that will make it play well with others. I’ve still got to reload programs on it. It never ends for the naked computer guy.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.