Morning

Harry_Nilsson_Nilsson_Schmilsson

Song: Early in the Morning
Artist: Harry Nilsson
Album: Nilsson Schmilsson
Released: 1971


Today’s Quote: “Sleep is an excellent way of listening to an opera.” ~ James Stephens


The alarm clock rang, chirped, or made whatever annoying sound it makes. I hit the snooze button but my bladder wasn’t about to let me play snooze button tag this morning. It was sending urgent distress signals to my brain, demanding immediate relief. I switched off the alarm and motivated my naked self to the bathroom. After achieving the needed relief, I wandered back to the bed and lay down again. Having turned off the alarm, I couldn’t risk going back to sleep, lest I oversleep, but I dozed off anyway. Luckily, she got up soon afterwards, waking me again.

Mornings are such a wretched time of day. If only we could follow our natural clocks and sleep until we are rested, eat when we’re hungry, and wear clothing only when necessary. The clocks we follow are arbitrary, restrictive, and often illogical, usually running counter to our nature. Clothing is much like the clocks we follow — arbitrary, restrictive, illogical, and counter to our nature.

And such are the ramblings of a brain with a morning caffeine deficiency.

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.