The Devil made me do it!

BeggarsBanquetLPSong: Sympathy For The Devil
Artist: The Rolling Stones
Album: Beggar’s Banquet
Released: 1968


Today’s Quote: “Just as every cop is a criminal / And all the sinners saints / As heads is tails / Just call me Lucifer / ‘Cause I’m in need of some restraint” ~ Mick Jagger & Keith Richards, Sympathy For The Devil


Most of you who might be reading this probably aren’t old enough to remember the Flip Wilson show. One of Flip’s most memorable characters was Geraldine whose standard reply as to why she’d done something was, “The Devil made me do it!” Sometimes I believe that line may have a lot of truth to it, that it’s more than a comedic tag line. Sometimes it’s the only logical explanation for some of the things I do. I’m not talking about things that are out and out evil or malevolent but little acts of subversion, subterfuge, rebellion, and self-destructive behavior. I’m sure there are fancy psychological terms and explanations but, for now, I’ll call it Satan’s influence over me. I’m not entirely comfortable with that explanation but it’s a start.


Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.