Generational Rant

Song: My Generation
Artist: The Who
Album: My Generation
Released: 1965


Today’s Quote: “I hope I die before I get old.” ~ Pete Townshend, My Generation


The current era of puritanism, neo-conservatism, and fear-fed paranoia will end eventually although it won’t be soon enough.

I believe that each succeeding generation should be more enlightened than the generation that preceded it. However, I haven’t seen that happening in my lifetime except, perhaps, on an individual basis. Instead of becoming more enlightened, succeeding generations seem to have become more ignorant and self-absorbed, less tolerant, and more irrational. They’re more willing to eat shit and like it. In fact, they seem to crave it and demand more.

At the head of the pack, leading us back to the 17th century is the same generation that gave us Woodstock, free love, and “Let it all hang out”. What the hell happened to them? Was it too many drugs? Too much weed? Not enough weed? Your guess is as good as mine but that generation has become more uptight than the generation they rebelled against.



A little kid asks his father, “Daddy, is God a man or a woman?”

“Both son. God is both.”

After awhile the kid comes again and asks, “Daddy, is God black or white?”

“Both son, both.”

“Daddy, does God love children?”

“Yes son, he loves all children.”

The child returns a few minutes later and says, “Daddy, is Michael Jackson God?”

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.