Amazing Technology

McCartney1970Song: Maybe I’m Amazed
Artist: Paul McCartney
Album: McCartney
Released: 1970


Today’s Quote: “Anything that is in the world when you’re born is normal and ordinary and is just a natural part of the way the world works. Anything that’s invented between when you’re fifteen and thirty-five is new and exciting and revolutionary and you can probably get a career in it. Anything invented after you’re thirty-five is against the natural order of things.” ~ Douglas Adams


This morning I threw caution to the wind and installed the XP Service Pack 3 on my laptop. Upon reboot I was immediately greeted by a BSOD. I tried booting into Safe Mode with the same result. Luckily, I had another computer handy and Googled the error message. I found a solution on a Microsoft TechNet forum which advised me to boot to an XP CD, go into the Recovery Console, and copy a file from the ServicePackFiles folder to the System32 folder.

Having nothing to lose at this point (other than my data), I gave it a try only to find that the file didn’t exist in the ServicePackFiles folder. I put my SP3 CD back in the drive and was able to find the file there with the underscore at the end of the extension. I copied that file to the System32 folder and figured I needed to expand it since it had the .dl_ extension. It came back with an “unable to expand file” message.

I scratched my head for a moment and just renamed the file to give it the proper extension. I rebooted and, to my amazement, it worked. Technology never fails to amaze me … I’m always amazed it works at all.


Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.