Jumping off the Cliffs of Insanity

 


Song: Hey, Hey What Can I Do
Artist: Led Zeppelin
Album:
Released: 1970 as the B side of The Immigrant Song
Note: This song wasn’t released on any album but was included in the Led Zeppelin boxed set.
Today’s Quote: “You rush a miracle man, you get rotten miracles.” ~ Miracle Max, The Princess Bride
Cliffs_of_Insanity


The Republicans are concerned that the government might grow under an Obama administration. And the government hasn’t grown under Bush? Its dictatorial powers certainly have grown and now they offer so many free services that weren’t provided under previous administrations — free phone tapping, free scanning of email, free tracking of financial information, free tracking of Internet activity, free surveillance videos, the list goes on and on.

Ted Strickland is an idiot. The Democrats can’t seem to put aside their personal differences until after the election and get behind the party’s candidate. It’s a strategy that has worked well for the Republicans. I heard that Governor Ted has given the famous “If nominated I will not run, if elected I will not serve” speech. Guess what? The first guy to say that didn’t get nominated. It’s not like everyone has been going after him to be the running mate. Way to go, Ohio!

I heard something on the news (I wasn’t really paying attention) about how much the candidates’ wives influence the voters. I hadn’t realized that. If they do, indeed, have so much influence then I propose that during the national conventions they also nominate a candidate for First Lady for the Presidential ticket. In future elections, they can include the First Lady ticket in the primaries. Or we can just make the obvious choice and vote for the candidate whose wife has the biggest tits. The candidate can garner more electoral votes if she flashes them on the campaign trail.


I don’t generally watch the national morning news shows and this morning while sitting around the waiting room at the hospital, I remembered why. It’s because the people on these shows are babbling idiots. These “news” programs are more entertainment than they are news. Just about everything on American television is focused on entertainment instead of information. We Americans would much rather be entertained than informed. If I want world and national news I usually go to BBC America or The Daily Show.


I see that Larry the Cable guy is the latest celebrity to jump on the Nutrisystem bandwagon. Git ‘r done. I don’t doubt you can lose weight under their system as long as you only eat the food they provide you. I think that $10 a day is a lot of money to feed one person at home and it really doesn’t look all that appetizing although it could be the lighting. But anyhoo, as soon as you get off their system and go back to real food (and probably your old eating habits), the pounds are going to come back, probably with interest.

Real weigh toss requires a change in your lifestyle. Since it was your lifestyle that made you fat in the first place, you have to change it or you’ll stay fat. It’s that freaking simple. Actually making the change can be difficult but it can be done.


Earl and Bubba both bought winning raffle tickets.
Earl won the grand prize: a DVD player.
Bubba took the sixth prize: a toilet brush.
A week later the two met up again, and Bubba asked his friend how he liked his prize.
“Great!” Earl exclaimed, “I’ve been watching movies night and day.”
Then he asked, “Has that toilet brush been a help?”
“Not really,” Bubba admitted. “I reckon I’m gonna go back to usin’ paper.”

Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.