A 10-day week

200_Motels

Song: Half a Dozen Provocative Squats
Artist: Frank Zappa and The Mothers of Invention
Album: 200 Motels
Released: 1971


Today’s Quote: “I would like to live as a poor man with lots of money.” ~ Pablo Picasso


I had a big, long rant I was going to post but decided against it. If you really want to read it, go here.


The past week was a long one. It felt like about 10 days to me. The time devoted to my employer wasn’t nearly as stressful as I had anticipated. I had three days of training and orientation for some kind of teaming and conferencing software but apparently my involvement wasn’t required. The day they demonstrated it I was at the other location so I wasn’t able to attend. I’m sure I’ll be intimately involved with it at some point. There’s plenty of crap to keep me gainfully employed and potentially stressed out but lately I seem to be handling it better. I’ve taken as my motto a quote from Teddy Roosevelt, “Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.” That seems like a good philosophy and so far it’s working.


There are some other things going on that I’m not ready to talk about publicly at this time. I’m still trying to wrap my head around some of it. I’ve been expecting this eventuality for years and now that it’s starting to unfold and in a way that I really hadn’t counted on, it’s quite stressful. There may come a time when I can really discuss it but now is not the time.


It looks as though it will soon be time to get out my hammer and power tools. Home improvement season is fast approaching. I may even do something with my own home. I’m still looking into my options for affordable, not-too-labor-intensive backyard privacy. My excursion to Lowes today didn’t look as promising as I’d hoped. The ideal solution would be something I could put up or take down relatively quickly since I wouldn’t want to leave it up permanently, just when needed. I’m sure there’s something out there. Maybe once I’ve completed my indentured servitude, privacy fencing around the entire backyard might be an option that’s still about 3 years down the road and there will be higher priority projects.


Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.

3 thoughts on “A 10-day week”

  1. A friend suggested canvas sheeting. It would still require posts, but the posts could be used decoratively. Stick a hook on them and hang planters or something.

    Like

    1. I was thinking along the same lines, using 6×8 blue tarps.wasn’t sure what to do for posts. I don’t want anything elaborate or permanent. It sucks living in a fascist, repressive society.

      Like

  2. It still sucks to live in a fascist, repressive society. In the last 5 years it has become even more fascist and more repressive.

    “When Fascism comes to America it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying a cross.” ~ Sinclair Lewis

    It has arrived and it’s been here a while.

    Like

Comments are closed.