Dance Naked, Emma

Dance-NakedSong: Dance Naked
Artist: John Mellencamp
Album: Dance Naked
Released: 1994


Today’s Quote: “I want you to dance naked / But only if you want to.” ~ John Mellencamp, Dance Naked


It’s payday, postmark your tax returns by midnight day, and Emma Watson’s 18th birthday. Sending birthday wishes across the pond.


My birthday was Sunday. I won’t say how old I am but I still know where my nuts are. Sunday was also Thomas Jefferson’s birthday (13 April 1743 – 4 July 1826). I was going to post something with a few quotes by Jefferson but I just didn’t get around to it. So here are the words of Thomas Jefferson a couple of days late:

“That government is best which governs the least, because its people discipline themselves.”
“My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government.”
“The natural process of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground.”
“A government big enough to give you everything you want, is strong enough to take everything you have.”
“But rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add ‘within the limits of the law,’ because law is often but the tyrant’s will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual.”
“I predict future happiness for Americans if they can prevent the government from wasting the labors of the people under the pretense of taking care of them.”
“I was bold in the pursuit of knowledge, never fearing to follow truth and reason to whatever results they led, and bearding every authority which stood in their way.”
“I’m a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work the more I have of it.”
“Whenever the people are well informed, they can be trusted with their own government!”
“I do not take a single newspaper, nor read one a month, and I feel myself infinitely the happier for it.”

Jefferson knew what he was talking about. I do believe we have the government our founding fathers warned us about.


As an added bonus for my faithful readers — Instructions for Life in the new millennium from the Dalai Lama:

1. Take into account that great love and great achievements involve great risk.
2. When you lose, dont lose the lesson.
3. Follow the three Rs: Respect for self, respect for others and responsibility for all your actions.
4. Remember that not getting what you want is sometimes a wonderful stroke of luck.
5. Learn the rules so you know how to break them properly.
6. Dont let a little dispute injure a great friendship.
7. When you realize youve made a mistake, take immediate steps to correct it.
8. Spend some time alone every day.
9. Open your arms to change, but dont let go of your values.
10. Remember that silence is sometimes the best answer.
11. Live a good, honorable life. Then when you get older and think back, youll be able to enjoy it a second time.
12. A loving atmosphere in your home is the foundation for your life.
13. In disagreements with loved ones, deal only with the current situation. Dont bring up the past.
14. Share your knowledge. Its a way to achieve immortality.
15. Be gentle with the earth.
16. Once a year, go some place youve never been before.
17. Remember that the best relationship is one in which your love for each other exceeds your need for each other.
18. Judge your success by what you had to give up in order to get it.
19. Approach love and cooking with reckless abandon.


Author: Rick

I'm a simple man, trying to make my way in the universe.